BOOK BANK – AN EXTRAORDINARY INITIATIVE

We all have heard about ordinary banks (Money Bank), Blood banks, Food banks but have you heard about book bank or toy bank. Your answer might be NO! But they do exist. Or you must be thinking about any Library. No, I am talking about book bank for the arrangement of books for the destitute children.

Last month, I saw my friend with so many books and toys in her hand and I was really surprised that where was she taking such books & toys? Then, she told me about an organization which has established food bank, book bank, blood bank, clothes bank and toy bank of its own to help needy ones. She further added that she donates such things every month or year depending upon the availability. But honestly, I was not able to believe such kind of altruistic behavior in this era. I was like, People think about providing food, money or clothes to needy ones but who thinks about providing toys and education. And I was proved to be wrong when I searched about the same and when I visited the organization with her.

After this incident, my behavior was completely changed and that day I got to know people exist who think about other and humanity really exists in this Kaliyuga also. I was eager to know more about the organization and especially, about the person under whose guidance this organization is working. Last week, when I met my friend again, I can’t stop myself to ask that question. Then she told me about a spiritual saint Gurmeet Ram Rahim Singh Ji, Head of that organization named as Dera Sacha Sauda.

My eagerness moved me more towards the topic and made me write the same for you guys. The organization is donating education (Doing Vidya Daan) which is of much importance as per our religions too. Our religions teach us importance of Education, it says “विद्यां ददाति विनयं, विनयाद् याति पात्रताम्। पात्रत्वात् धनमाप्नोति, धनात् धर्मं ततः सुखम्।।“And it says education donation as the greatest donation “अन्न दानं महा दानं विद्या दानं महत्तरम्”. Also, selfless service to needy makes a person eligible for God’s grace.

The same thing this organization and the Baba Rahim Ji are doing and showing a virtuous path to all. Under this book bank initiative, awareness on the menace of AIDS & related issues is spread by arranging seminars and distributing books in schools and colleges regarding these & thereby encouraging moral values among youth. There is also a mobile platform for the same which provides its services in rural areas.

Author: Listening Heart

A writer who loves to explore and learn. The one who writes her life experiences & heartfelt feelings.

3 thoughts on “BOOK BANK – AN EXTRAORDINARY INITIATIVE”

Leave a comment